© Marnhull Village Hall 2018

Marnhull Village Hall

Marnhull, with a population of 2000 people, lies in the Blackmore Vale and is well provided for with churches, shops and pubs. It is an active community with many sports clubs and organisations which meet regularly at the Village Hall. The hall is situated in the heart of the village adjacent to the Recreation Ground, Cricket Pitch, Tennis Courts and a Children’s Play area.
We extend our thoughts to all while the Hall is closed and life in Marnhull,  the country and throughout the world is severely affected.  We are particularly aware of those whose lives revolved around the village organisations which have had to curtail their social programmes and activities. The mutual support and comfort of people meeting together face-to-face has been drastically curbed. While many have learned to become more adept online it's not the same, but it's better than nothing and in some cases a lifeline.  We are all very fortunate to live in such a supportive community where people are finding many ways to keep in touch and help one another during such extraordinary times. We look forward very much to the time when all our village organisations can resume their activities and the Village Hall can once again offer its normal, and ultimately extended and improved, facilities.   There will be updates as soon as circumstances change.  With our very best wishes to all throughout this 'difficult' time  Village Hall Management Committee April 2020
Updates on bookings and the building project appear on the NEWS page
Recent Improvement work at the Village Hall - Low Carbon Dorset Photovoltaic Panels have been installed on the roof of the Village Hall and all of the light fittings have been replaced with low energy LED units.  The new lighting will reduce the energy bills of the Hall substantially and the panels will produce an excess of electricity that will be exported to the grid. The panels are estimated to produce in excess of 8megawatts of electricity per annum. Combined with the lower usage from the hall a surplus of approximately 4mwatts could be achieved for which we will be paid, not very much but any income is welcome.   The logical next step would be the installation of a battery system to store the excess energy produced so that power generated during the day can be used in the evening or when the sun is not shining. That obviously will require funding and must wait for a time when there are not quite so many other calls on the generosity of the village. This project could not have happened without the generous support of  Dorset Council and the European Regional Development Fund
Photos are on the News Page